Return to Concert Firefly Banjo Ukulele
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 Fluke concert size banjolele July 22, 2017
Reviewer: Richard7 from Western Australia  
Nice but one problem: non geared tuners make it very hard to tune.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Awesome December 27, 2016
Reviewer: Sandra B from North Wales U.K.  
This is for me a perfect banjolele. Its so lightweight but the sound that comes out is noway lightweight!  Stunning tone, low action - really couldn't find anything not to like.    I purchased through the UK dealer, both he and the guys at Magic Fluke have given brilliant service, questions answered really quick, good advice etc. etc.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Banjo Sound I was looking for. February 6, 2016
Reviewer: Jan from Denmark  
After 40 yrs playing tenor banjo (trying) I converted to ukulele.
After 8 ukuleles came the Firefly Concert and finally the sweet, mellow sound I wanted.
It has all five stars in sound and playability.
It stays in tune and doesn't show any wear or slackness of the head.
Here in Denmark, it's an eyecatcher and ukuleleplayers simply MUST try it.
I love it.
My next instrument is going to be the Tenor Fluke in Koa - then I only need those two


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Beautiful, great sounding instrument December 23, 2015
Reviewer: Ann from New York  
I LOVE my Firefly!  I had agonized for quite a while about adding another instrument to my uke collection. I'd been considering a resonator uke or a banjolele. The banjoleles that I saw were often heavy with a lot of bulky metal. My dad owns a Fluke uke which he loves and based on having played that many many times, I decided to just take a chance on the Firefly. I haven't been at all sorry. This instrument is beautifully made, lightweight, easy to play, and LOUD. It really projects!  For a small instrument, it has an incredible sound. My dad and I play in a folk group together and we both play ukulele and because he taught me, we both have the exact same playing style. Adding the Firefly into the mix has really helped because the sound is so different. Thank you Magic Fluke Company! Please come up with more uke hybrid instruments, like a mandolin uke or a resonator uke!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Can't put it down December 23, 2015
Reviewer: Chris W. from Victoria, BC  
I've had my Soprano Firefly for about three months now, and I have played it for at least half an hour every  single day.  That's how much fun it is.  The quality and playabiIity are superb.  I replaced the stock strings with Fremont Black Line low-G strings (note that this required making the string slot on the bridge just a teensy bit bigger.)  Rainbow Connection on the uke never sounded so good.  8^)

I was a little worried about the bridge sinking into the head over time, so I inserted a small circle of closed cell foam under the head right beneath the bridge.  This supports the head and also mutes the instrument a bit, which is handy for practice.  Probably not necessary, but it brings me a little peace of mind.

Anyway, I can't recommend the Firefly enough.  I'm taking mine on vacation this summer!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 my first Firefly (a dream come true) December 23, 2015
Reviewer: Slap Pappy from Clifton, NJ United States  
after much frustration trying to get a baritone uke out of a tenor banjo (don't ask) I finally bought the Soprano Firefly today and it's simply the best value for the money!  Just the essentials, no frills.  Very light, great sound, learning to adjust the tuners but that's a minor point (care and feeding is on this site) and the neck width is very comfortable for a large-fingered gent.  I own a few other regular ukes, but I intend to put serious mileage on this one,

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Light as a fly... December 23, 2015
Reviewer: Juha Salo from , Finland  
The soprano firefly banjolele was a good found for me from my trip to London last January. Having solved with some problems with the tuning pegs and winter, I expect a good future for me with the instrument. Compered with the heavy traditional banjo-like ones (chinise Gold Tone), this light and pleasent instrument is easy and comfortable to play in all circumstances, hopefully also forthcoming Finnish winters.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Light. Punchy. Sweet. Cute. Get it. December 23, 2015
Reviewer: Rachel Manke from Malden, MA United States  
I've tried out a number of great banjo ukes.
I love this thing and here's why:
It's made in Massachusetts.  It's made of local wood.  It is a banjo uke without a ton of hardware to dig into your arm.  It's super light.  It's punchy and bright and sounds so sweet.  It feels great in my hands; I'm a bit picky about this too!  The neck is smooth as butter and the fretting is great.  It's a good deal for the cost.  It gets a lot of attention wherever I bring it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Very nice! September 12, 2014
Reviewer: Francois Ouellette from Toronto, ON Canada  
I wanted a soprano but ended up buying the concert, not sure how different the size is, but this one seems to come with the rosewood fingerboard (it's an option on the soprano). Regular banjoleles are heavy and have lots of metal parts getting on the way when holding them, this one has a smooth body and is super-light! Yet, still has a big sound. The slotted headstock is a bonus, it looks much nicer than a regular flat head. The standard tuners seems fine. The label says it came with D'Addario strings,  which sound decent. All and all an excellent buy, and tons of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?